GlobeNewswire

Next Games Corporation Half-Year Review January-June 2021 Publishing Operations’ steady profitability maintains the Company’s EBITDA positive

Share

NEXT GAMES CORPORATION COMPANY RELEASE 13 AUGUST 2021, 9:00 a.m. EEST

This release is a summary of the January-June 2021 Half-year Review. The full report is attached as a .pdf document in the end of this release and available at www.nextgames.com/reports


January-June 2021 in Short

  • Revenue was EUR 12.3 (14.4) million
  • Gross Profit was EUR 6.3 (7.5) million, 51% (52%) of revenue
  • EBITDA was EUR 0.2 (0.3) million
  • Operating Result (EBIT) was EUR -2.2 (-1.6) million
  • Adjusted Operating Result was EUR -0.3 (0.1) million
  • Publishing Operations’ EBITDA was EUR 3.0 (3.4) million, 24% (24%) of revenue
  • Research & Development costs were EUR 3.1 (2.6) million, 25% (18%) of revenue
  • At the end of the reporting period, the Company had 112 (108) employees

(Numbers in brackets refer to the corresponding year-on-year period, unless otherwise mentioned)


Chief Executive Officer
TeemuHuuhtanen:

EBITDA positive, stable and predictable performance continues in the first half – it’s now time for revenue growth

The first half of 2021 gives us an opportunity to showcase how our strategic focus areas and the operating initiatives we put in place, have improved our productivity as well as capabilities to scale our business and increase our revenue significantly. We remain confident in our outlook for the full year, reaching at least EUR 40 (27 in 2020) million in revenues and EBITDA positive with a global release of Stranger Things: Puzzle Tales and Blade Runner: Rogue starting in the third quarter of 2021.

Our performance continued both predictable and stable. We have remained EBITDA positive since the first quarter of 2020, while significantly increasing our investments in R&D. In March 2021, we took steps to support our future growth through a successful direct share issue to domestic and international institutional investors in order to enter into new partnerships, sign new intellectual property licenses, finance the development of new games and to support the implementation of the Company’s existing strategy. During the first half we executed on that promise and doubled our investment to EUR 3.6 (1.7) million in R&D, while increasing our intangible assets by EUR 3.6 million. As of June 30, 2021 all intangible assets, including development expenses and license rights, related to The Walking Dead franchise have been fully amortized. Our current intangible asset value of EUR 14.6 (11.0) million is solely related to our technology, upcoming products and licenses related to them.

Our efficiency with a unified infrastructure is starting to show. We initiated streamlining of operations in 2019, with a commitment to improve profitability permanently and not exceed 117 employees. Two years later, in the first half of 2021 alone, we have tested more than 16 different game concepts, and by Q4 we will have three teams working under our New Games umbrella. We remain EBITDA profitable with now almost 60% of our staff working on upcoming games, while our headcount has merely increased from 108 to 112 (since H1 2019). We have delivered on our promise.

With the gaming sector flourishing during COVID-19, many entertainment companies have become very eager to penetrate the games market and forge powerful collaborations to extract additional value from their IPs. Our Strategic Partnerships and outstanding reputation in the licensed games field put us at the top of the list of potential partners, allowing us to continue working with the most renowned licenses.

As expected, our Walking Dead franchise continues strong: six-year-old No Man’s Land and three-year-old Our World are showing longevity and continued profitability. As a result of this, in January–June 2021 our revenue was EUR 12.3 (14.4) million. Our Publishing Operations’ profitability, i.e. the profitability of published games, continued with a permanently improved EBITDA margin at 24% (24%), and was EUR 3.0 (3.4) million. Our achieved relative profitability is excellent to build on and we see it as solid proof that despite paid user acquisition being increasingly challenging, we find ourselves well-suited to succeed in the new reality owing to our licensed games strategy and active brand portfolio management.

We talk a lot about our continued commitment to invest in players first and that our games are a place where players are protected from toxic behaviors such as inappropriate language, bullying, or discrimination. This starts in the workplace, in the culture we are committed to building at Next Games, of applying zero tolerance to discrimination. In the midst of continued and multiple concerning revelations within the games industry on workplace discrimination, I am proud that we have deepened our focus on Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging. Our board and management are diverse in respect of gender, ethnicity and background, and we have also made key hires that lead our DIB group efforts internally. We already have safeguards in place so employees can confidentially reach out for help both within and outside the Company, and we are introducing additional ones. Ultimately our strategy is dependent on intangible assets. Our people create what we bring to our players, and their well-being, freedom of expression as well as feeling of safety is our most valuable equity and also our main focus.

Next Games is committed to a 50:50 gender balance by 2030, and thus to working towards inviting more women and non-binary into the industry. We believe this will in the long term fix the issues we're currently witnessing in the industry. We aim to inspire other companies to follow in our footsteps for a more inclusive and diverse game industry in Finland and globally. We especially encourage open dialogue and a commitment to improve. We need to build a better industry together.

I am extremely thankful to our players for their continued commitment, our team for their relentless focus on success, and our investors for their unwavering support.
We are all looking forward to the new, exciting games to come!


Key Figures

EUR millionJan-Jun 2021Jan-Jun 2020ChangeJan-Dec 2020
Company
Revenue12.314.4-15%27.2
Gross Profit6.37.5-16%14.3
EBITDA0.20.3-30%0.5
Operating Result (EBIT)-2.2-1.6-33%-3.4
Adjusted Operating Result-0.30.1-486%-0.1
Gross Profit %51%52%1ppt52%
EBITDA %2%2%0ppt2%
Operating Result (EBIT) %-18%-11%7ppt-12%
Adjusted Operating Result %-2%1%3ppt0%
Publishing Operations' Profitability
EBITDA3.03.4-13%6.4
EBITDA %24%24%0ppt24%
Research and Development Key Figures
Investments2.11.722%3.5
Expenditure3.83.315%7.0

Calculation and Reconciliation of Key figures for Publishing Operations’ Profitability and Research and Development can be found in subsequent sections “Publishing Operations” and “Product Development”


Key Figures per Quarter

EUR millionJan-Mar 2021Jan-Mar 2020ChangeApr-Jun 2021Apr-Jun 2020Change
Revenue6.27.3-15%6.17.1-14%
Gross Profit3.23.8-15%3.13.8-18%
EBITDA0.3-0.2254%-0.00.5-103%
Operating Result (EBIT)-1.0-1.210%-1.1-0.5-135%
Adjusted Operating Result0.0-0.3103%-0.30.4-185%
Gross Profit %52%52%0ppt51%53%2ppt
EBITDA %4%-2%6ppt0%7%7ppt
Operating Result (EBIT) %-17%-16%1ppt-18%-7%11ppt
Adjusted Operating Result %0%-4%4ppt-5%5%10ppt


Outlook 2021

Next Games expects revenues to grow to at least EUR 40 million in 2021. The Company is targeting profitable growth with full year EBITDA positive in 2021.


Basis for Outlook

The outlook is based on an estimate that The Walking Dead games are expected to generate revenue on a steady or slightly declining trend. Revenue for Stranger Things is expected to increase during 2021, and Blade Runner will be released in key markets.


Webcast and Phone Conference

We will hold a webcast in English. Next Games’ H1 2021 review will be presented by CEO Teemu Huuhtanen and CFO Annina Salvén.

The English webcast starts on 13 August 2021 at 10:00 a.m. EEST. You can join by using the following link: https://nextgames.videosync.fi/2021-q2-results

The webcast recording will be available at www.nextgames.com/reports
on the same day.

Phone conference details:

Dial in by calling your location’s phone number a couple of minutes before the start. Confirmation code: 44228703#

Finland: +358 981 710 310

Sweden: +46 856 642 651

United Kingdom: +44 333 300 0804

United States: +1 631 91 31422

Additional information:

Annina Salvén
CFO
+358 (0) 40 588 3167
investors@nextgames.com

Certified Adviser: Alexander Corporate Finance Oy, tel. +358 (0) 50 520 4098

Next Games in Short

Next Games is the first publicly listed mobile game developer and publisher in Finland, specializing in games based on entertainment franchises, such as movies, TV series or books. The developers of the critically acclaimed The Walking Dead games redefine the way franchise entertainment transforms into highly engaging service-based mobile games.

Currently Next Games is working on multiple new games based on popular entertainment franchises, including Blade Runner: Rogue for the popular Blade Runner franchise and a mobile game based on Netflix’s Stranger Things. For more information head to www.nextgames.com


Attachments

To view this piece of content from www.globenewswire.com, please give your consent at the top of this page.
To view this piece of content from ml-eu.globenewswire.com, please give your consent at the top of this page.

About GlobeNewswire

GlobeNewswire
GlobeNewswire
One Liberty Plaza - 165 Broadway
NY 10006 New York

https://globenewswire.com

GlobeNewswire is one of the world's largest newswire distribution networks, specializing in the delivery of corporate press releases financial disclosures and multimedia content to the media, investment community, individual investors and the general public.

Subscribe to releases from GlobeNewswire

Subscribe to all the latest releases from GlobeNewswire by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from GlobeNewswire

Novartis presents new Kisqali® data showing longest median overall survival ever reported in HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer19.9.2021 13:30:00 CEST | Press release

With the MONALEESA-2 final analysis, only Kisqali has reported statistically significant overall survival (OS) benefit with an aromatase inhibitor for postmenopausal women with HR+/HER2- advanced breast cancer in the first-line (1L) setting2 Kisqali plus letrozole achieved median OS of over five years (63.9 months), a survival benefit of over 12 months vs. placebo plus letrozole in postmenopausal women (HR=0.76; p=0.004)2 Kisqali is the only CDK4/6 inhibitor with proven OS benefit across all three Phase III trials of the MONALEESA program with different endocrine therapy partners, regardless of menopausal status or line of therapy2-4 MONALEESA-2 OS data to be presented at ESMO Congress 2021 as a late-breaker in an oral session The digital press release with multimedia content can be accessed here: Basel, September 19, 2021 — Novartis today announced results of the final overall survival (OS) analysis of the Phase III MONALEESA-2 study, which evaluated Kisqali® (ribociclib) in combinati

Hypefactors announces launch of 4th generation Reputation AI18.9.2021 10:37:51 CEST | Press release

Copenhagen, Sept. 18, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Announcement no. 13-2021 Inside Information Copenhagen, 18. September 2021 The SaaS company Hypefactors, that delivers a unified solution for media intelligence and reputation tracking, will launch its next generation Reputation AI (artificial intelligence) on September 20, 2021. Through algorithmic advances in machine learning, as well as drastically increased data curated by a team of in-house recruited linguists with diverse language and cultural backgrounds, Hypefactors incorporates the latest scientific advances in natural language processing to deliver unprecedented accuracy, precision and automation to commercial end-users. AI-assisted reputation tracking is a core feature of Hypefactors and enables large scale tracking from social media, news websites, tv, radio and reviews across the world. These real-time reputation insights can reveal early-stage opportunities (e.g. GameStop media hype), and/or defensively as an on-going protect

Repurchase of shares in Millicom17.9.2021 23:00:00 CEST | Press release

Repurchase of shares in Millicom Luxembourg, September17, 2021 - During the period September 9, 2021 – September 15, 2021, Millicom repurchased a total of 131,559 of its Swedish Depository Receipts (SDRs), hereinafter referred to as shares within the framework of the repurchase program announced on July 29, 2021, details of which are shown in the table below. DateNumber of shares repurchasedWeighted average repurchaseprice (SEK) excluding commissionsTotal daily transaction value (SEK), excluding commissions 09/09/2021 15,000 322.6863 4,840,294.50 10/09/2021 30,000 322.1097 9,663,291.00 13/09/2021 17,974 322.3942 5,794,713.35 14/09/2021 15,725 321.5394 5,056,207.07 15/09/2021 52,860 314.4509 16,621,874.57 All purchases were carried out on Nasdaq Stockholm by Citigroup Global Markets Limited on behalf of Millicom. Following the purchases, as of September 15, 2021, Millicom holds 792,425 treasury shares. The total number of shares outstanding in Millicom is 101,739,217. The repurchase pro

Palette Life Sciences lanserar ny varumärkeswebbplats med USA:s portfölj17.9.2021 18:09:14 CEST | Pressemelding

Varumärkesuppdatering för USA och globala kommersiella produkter för behandling av ouppfyllda medicinska behov SANTA BARBARA, Kalifornien och STOCKHOLM, Sverige, Sept. 17, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Palette Life Sciences, ett helt integrerat globalt företag inom biovetenskap som arbetar för att förbättra patientutfall, lanserade idag sin nyligen uppdaterade webbplats Palettelifesciences.com. Webbplatsen har ett uppdaterat företagsvarumärke som stöder alla produkter i Palette Life Sciences-portföljen, och som fokuserar på minimalt invasiva behandlingar inriktade på ouppfyllda medicinska behov vid strålbehandling och interventionella onkologiska ingrepp, urologiska/urogynekologiska sjukdomar och kolorektala tillstånd. ”Vi inom Palette är stolta över vår förstklassiga produktportfölj som ger hopp åt dem med ouppfyllda medicinska behov”, säger Per G. Langö, Chief Executive Officer och Board Director för Palette Life Sciences. ”När vi bytte varumärke på vår webbplats övervägde vi hur vi bäst

Prosafe SE: bp charters Safe Zephyrus in 202217.9.2021 17:40:15 CEST | Press release

BP Exploration Operating Company Limited ('bp') has chartered the Safe Zephyrus to provide gangway connected operations to support the Seagull project at the ETAP central processing facility in the UK North Sea. The firm duration of the contract, starting Q1 2022, is 10 months with up to four months of options. The Safe Zephyrus is one of the world's most advanced and versatile accommodation vessels, complying with stringent rules in both UK and Norway and with a strong focus on reducing emissions by optimising the engine load. The value of the contract firm duration is USD 35.5 million, and the firm duration including options value is USD 49.3 million. Prosafe is a leading owner and operator of semi-submersible accommodation vessels. The company is listed on the Oslo Stock Exchange with ticker code PRS. For more information, please refer to www.prosafe.com 17 September 2021 Prosafe SE For further information, please contact: Jesper K. Andresen, CEO Phone: +47 51 65 24 30 / +47 907 65 

CONDITIONS FOR RIKSBANK REVERSED AUCTIONS SEK COVERED BONDS17.9.2021 16:20:00 CEST | Press release

Bid procedure, 2021-09-23BondsSWEDBANK HYPOTEK AB: 192. SE0010133207. 2023-03-15 STADSHYPOTEK AB: 1591, SE0013882644, 2026-06-01 SWEDISH COVERED BOND: 146, SE0013381571, 2025-06-11 SKANDINAVISKA ENSKILDA: 581, SE0013102043, 2026-12-16 LANSFORSAKRINGAR HYPOTEK: 520, SE0014694659, 2027-09-15 DANSKE HYPOTEK AB: 2312, SE0011116474, 2023-12-20 NORDEA HYPOTEK AB: 5536, SE0013358439, 2026-09-16 Bid date2021-09-23Bid times09.00-10.00 (CET/CEST) on the Bid dateRequested volume (corresponding nominal amount)192: 400 mln SEK +/-200 mln SEK 1591: 1900 mln SEK +/-950 mln SEK 146: 700 mln SEK +/-350 mln SEK 581: 500 mln SEK +/-250 mln SEK 520: 600 mln SEK +/-300 mln SEK 2312: 500 mln SEK +/-250 mln SEK 5536: 400 mln SEK +/-200 mln SEK Highest permitted bid volume (corresponding nominal amount)192: 400 mln SEK per bid 1591: 1900 mln SEK per bid 146: 700 mln SEK per bid 581: 500 mln SEK per bid 520: 600 mln SEK per bid 2312: 500 mln SEK per bid 5536: 400 mln SEK per bid Lowest permitted bid volume (co

CONDITIONS FOR RIKSBANK REVERSED AUCTIONS SEK GOVERNMENT BONDS17.9.2021 16:20:00 CEST | Press release

Bid procedure, 2021-09-24BondsSWEDISH GOVERNMENT: 1056. SE0004517290. 2032-06-01 SWEDISH GOVERNMENT: 1053, SE0002829192, 2039-03-30 Bid date2021-09-24Bid times09.00-10.00 (CET/CEST) on the Bid dateRequested volume (corresponding nominal amount)1056: 500 mln SEK +/-250 mln SEK 1053: 750 mln SEK +/-350 mln SEK Highest permitted bid volume (corresponding nominal amount)1056: 500 mln SEK per bid 1053: 750 mln SEK per bid Lowest permitted bid volume (corresponding nominal amount)SEK 50 million per bidExpected allocation timeNot later than 10.15 (CET/CEST) on the Bid dateDelivery and payment date2021-09-28Delivery of bondsTo the Riksbank's account in Euroclear Sweden AB's securities settlement system 1 4948 6383 Stockholm, 2021-09-17 This is a translation of the special terms and conditions published on www.riksbank.se. In the case of any inconsistency between the English translation and the Swedish language version, the Swedish language version shall prevail. Complete terms and conditions c