GlobeNewswire

Cargotec’s financial statements review 2020: Good performance in an exceptional year

Share

CARGOTEC CORPORATION, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS REVIEW 2020, 4 FEBRUARY 2021 AT 1.30 PM EET

Cargotec’s financial statements review 2020: Good performance in an exceptional year

  • Positive trend continued since May
  • Service business remained resilient, sales decreased by 5 percent
  • Share of eco portfolio sales increased to 24 percent
  • Cargotec’s extraordinary general meeting approved merger with Konecranes. The implementation of the merger is subject to obtaining the necessary approvals from the competition authorities.

The figures in this financial statements review are based on Cargotec Corporation’s audited 2020
financial statements.

October–December 2020 in brief: Orders received at the previous year’s level

  • Orders received remained at comparison period’s level and totalled EUR 963 (962) million.
  • Order book amounted to EUR 1,824 (31 Dec 2019: 2,089) million at the end of the period.
  • Sales decreased by 14 percent and totalled EUR 873 (1,015) million.
  • Service sales decreased by 8 percent and totalled EUR 262 (285) million.
  • Service and software sales represented 35 (33) percent of consolidated sales.
  • Operating profit was EUR 18 (18) million, representing 2.0 (1.8) percent of sales. Operating profit includes items affecting comparability worth EUR -47 (-56) million.
  • Comparable operating profit decreased by 14 percent and amounted to EUR 64 (74) million, representing 7.3 (7.3) percent of sales.
  • Cash flow from operations before financial items and taxes totalled EUR 196 (208) million.
  • Net income for the period amounted to EUR 7 (-0) million.
  • Earnings per share was EUR 0.10 (-0.00).

January–December 2020 in brief: Satisfactory profitability and strong cash flow

  • Orders received decreased by 16 percent and totalled EUR 3,121 (3,714) million.
  • Sales decreased by 11 percent and totalled EUR 3,263 (3,683) million.
  • Service sales decreased by 5 percent and totalled EUR 1,005 (1,062) million.
  • Service and software sales represented 36 (33) percent of consolidated sales.
  • Operating profit was EUR 70 (180) million, representing 2.2 (4.9) percent of sales. Operating profit includes items affecting comparability worth EUR -133 (-84) million.
  • Comparable operating profit decreased by 23 percent and amounted to EUR 204 (264) million, representing 6.2 (7.2) percent of sales.
  • Cash flow from operations before financial items and taxes totalled EUR 296 (361) million.
  • Net income for the period amounted to EUR 8 (89) million.
  • Earnings per share was EUR 0.13 (1.39). Earnings per share decreased due to lower sales, lower comparable operating profit and increased restructuring costs.

Outlook for 2021

Cargotec expects its comparable operating profit for 2021 to improve from 2020 (EUR 2281 million).


1Cargotec changed the definition of the alternative performance measure comparable operating profit starting from 1 January 2021 to align it with the definition used in the merger prospectus. In addition to the items significantly affecting comparability, the restated comparable operating profit will also exclude the impacts of the purchase price allocation, which amounted to EUR 24 million in 2020. Comparison figure has been calculated based on the new definition. Restatement for 2020 figures will be published before Q1/21 result announcement. 

Cargotec’s key figures

MEURQ4/20Q4/19Change20202019Change
Orders received9639620%3,1213,714-16%
Service orders received265277-4%9871,079-9%
Order book, end of period1,8242,089-13%1,8242,089-13%
Sales8731,015-14%3,2633,683-11%
Service sales262285-8%1,0051,062-5%
Software sales*4446-5%166168-2%
Service and software sales, % of sales35%33%36%33%
Operating profit17.618.0-2%70.4180.0-61%
Operating profit, %2.0%1.8%2.2%4.9%
Comparable operating profit64.174.3-14%203.6264.4-23%
Comparable operating profit, %7.3%7.3%6.2%7.2%
Income before taxes4.58.2-45%34.5145.9-76%
Cash flow from operations before financing items and taxes196208-6 %296361-18%
Net income for the period6.6-0.3> 100%8.189.4-91%
Earnings per share, EUR0.10-0,00> 100%0.131.39-91%
Interest-bearing net debt, end of period682774-12%682774-12%
Gearing, %52.4%54.2%52.4%54.2%
Interest-bearing net debt / EBITDA**3.22.53.22.5
Return on capital employed (ROCE), last 12 months, %***2.8%7.3%2.8%7.3%
Personnel, end of period11,55212,587-8%11,55212,587-8%

*Software sales include the strategic business unit Navis and automation software
**Last 12 months’ EBITDA

In the calculation of the balance sheet related key figures the assets held for sale and liabilities related to assets held for sale are included in the applicable account groups, even though in the balance sheet they are presented on one row.

Cargotec’s CEO Mika Vehviläinen: Positive trend in orders received, sales and comparable operating profit continued in the last quarter

In many ways, 2020 was exceptional for the whole world and also for Cargotec. The rapid spread of Covid-19 and related regulatory restrictions closed our own and our suppliers’ production units and caused unprecedented uncertainty on the market. On the other hand, our actions during the year proved our strategic direction to be correct. Our investments over the years in services, digitalisation and research and development, as well as in our asset-light operating model brought about good results.

Market uncertainty affected  customers’ decision making especially in the second and third quarter and our orders received decreased by 16 percent from the previous year. Customers considered  carefully their larger investments in, for example, port automation and new vessels. On the other hand, the pandemic has further strengthened interest in automation. However, it is still too early to speculate when customers start making investment decisions. MacGregor’s market situation is expected to remain challenging, but for example new contracting of wind turbine installation and service vessels is expected to grow.  After April and towards the end of the year, demand  for Kalmar’s mobile equipment business and for Hiab increased strongly. In terms of orders received, Hiab’s fourth quarter was its best ever. Our year-end order book increased compared to the end of the third quarter, which gives us a good start for 2021.

Our sales decreased from the previous year. However, the decline was partly offset by an increased share of the stable service and software business. Customer interest towards our eco-efficiency solutions increased in all business areas despite the crises. The eco portfolio sales increased to almost a quarter of our total sales. Our electrified equipment is included in the portfolio, for example.

Despite the exceptional year, our profitability remained at a satisfactory level. Our comparable operating profit amounted to EUR 204 million. Comparable operating profits in Kalmar and in Hiab decreased due to lower sales whereas comparable operating profit in MacGregor increased. Thanks to synergies from TTS integration and other restructuring actions, MacGregor posted positive comparable operating profit in the second half of the year. Our rapid reaction to covid-19 pandemic as well as cost saving actions also supported our profitability. The full year comparable operating profit margin decreased and amounted to 6.2 percent. However, the margin improved to 7.3 percent during the second half of the year, which was close to the level of the second half in 2019 (Q3–Q4/2019: 7.4 percent). In addition, we enhanced our productivity with structural measures with our permanent headcount reductions amounting to approximately 1,000. 

Our operative cash flow was strong and, thanks to net working capital reduction measures, our net debt was reduced especially in Q4. We continued determined investments in research and development. Our R&D investments increased by three percent and were particularly focused on themes supporting our climate ambition such as digitalisation, electrification and automation as well as projects that aim to improve the competitiveness and cost efficiency of products. Year 2021 will mark a considerable milestone for Kalmar as its entire portfolio becomes available as electrically powered.

In May, we introduced our climate ambition to be a 1.5 degree company. According to the commitment, we aim to reduce the CO2 emissions of raw material sourcing and product use phase by at least 50 percent from the 2019 levels by 2030. In addition, we aim to be carbon neutral in our own operations by 2030.

We are constantly developing our business structure. In 2020, we sold our stake in RCI joint venture in China and started the sales process of Navis business. On 1 October, we announced the plan to combine Cargotec and Konecranes through a merger. Extraordinary meetings held on 18 December by each of the companies resolved the resolution to approve the merger. The implementation of the merger is subject to obtaining the necessary approvals from the competition authorities. More information about the merger is available from the web address www.sustainablematerialflow.com.

Health and safety of our employees, customers and partners are our top priorities. Despite the challenging year, the results of our operational safety and Compass employee satisfaction survey improved from the previous year. I want to thank all our employees for their contribution during this exceptional year and our customers, partners and shareholders for the trust they have placed in us.


Reporting segments’ key figures

Orders received

MEURQ4/20Q4/19Change20202019Change
Kalmar4454460%1,4011,776-21%
Hiab41732230%1,2101,310-8%
MacGregor100193-48%511630-19%
Internal orders00-1-1
Total9639620%3,1213,714-16%

Order book

MEUR31 Dec 202031 Dec 2019Change
Kalmar8421,049-20%
Hiab50340624%
MacGregor480633-24%
Internal orders00
Total1,8242,089-13%

Sales

MEURQ4/20Q4/19Change20202019Change
Kalmar411471-13%1,5291,723-11%
Hiab295368-20%1,0941,350-19%
MacGregor168176-5%6426115%
Internal sales-10-1-1
Total8731,015-14%3,2633,683-11%

Operating profit

MEURQ4/20Q4/19Change20202019Change
Kalmar19.541.2-53%61.8154.4-60%
Hiab25.048.3-48%97.3159.3-39%
MacGregor-12.6-59.979%-48.2-83.342%
Corporate administration and support functions-14.3-11.5-23%-40.7-50.419%
Total17.618.0-2%70.4180.0-61%

Comparable operating profit

MEURQ4/20Q4/19Change20202019Change
Kalmar28.244.1-36%116.4161.8-28%
Hiab41.151.8-21%126.5170.2-26%
MacGregor3.0-12.5> 100%-4.3-28.285%
Corporate administration and support functions-8.2-9.09%-34.9-39.512%
Total64.174.3-14%203.6264.4-23%

Telephone conference for analysts, investors and media

A live international telephone conference for analysts, investors and media will be arranged on the publishing day at 3:00 p.m. EET. The event will be held in English. The report will be presented by CEO Mika Vehviläinen and Executive Vice President, CFO Mikko Puolakka. The presentation material will be available at www.cargotec.com by the latest 2:30 p.m. EET.

The telephone conference, during which questions may be presented, can be accessed by registering here. The registration opens 15 minutes prior to the event. The event conferencing system will call the participant on the phone number provided and place the participant into the event.

The telephone conference can also be accessed without advance registration with code 507254 by calling to one of the following numbers:

FI +358 (0) 9 7479 0360

DE +49 (0) 89 2030 31236

SE +46 (0) 8 5033 6573

UK +44 (0) 330 336 9104

US +1 323-701-0223

The event can also be viewed as a live webcast at https://cargotec.videosync.fi/2020-q4-results. The conference call will be recorded and an on-demand version of the conference will be published at Cargotec’s website later during the day.

Note that by dialling in to the conference call, the participant agrees that personal information such as name and company name will be collected.

For further information, please contact:
Mikko Puolakka, Executive Vice President and CFO, tel. +358 20 777 4105
Hanna-Maria Heikkinen, Vice President, Investor Relations, tel. +358 20 777 4084

THE MERGER AND THE MERGER CONSIDERATION SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN AND WILL NOT BE REGISTERED UNDER THE U.S. SECURITIES ACT AND MAY NOT BE OFFERED, SOLD OR DELIVERED WITHIN OR INTO THE UNITED STATES, EXCEPT PURSUANT TO AN APPLICABLE EXEMPTION OF, OR IN A TRANSACTION NOT SUBJECT TO, THE U.S. SECURITIES ACT.

Cargotec (Nasdaq Helsinki: CGCBV) enables smarter cargo flow for a better everyday with its leading cargo handling solutions and services. Cargotec's business areas Kalmar, Hiab and MacGregor are pioneers in their fields. Through their unique position in ports, at sea and on roads, they optimise global cargo flows and create sustainable customer value. Cargotec has signed United Nations Global Compact’s Business Ambition for 1.5°C. The company's sales in 2020 totalled approximately EUR 3.3 billion and it employs around 11,500 people. www.cargotec.com





Attachment


About GlobeNewswire

GlobeNewswire
GlobeNewswire
One Liberty Plaza - 165 Broadway
NY 10006 New York

https://globenewswire.com

GlobeNewswire is one of the world's largest newswire distribution networks, specializing in the delivery of corporate press releases financial disclosures and multimedia content to the media, investment community, individual investors and the general public.

Subscribe to releases from GlobeNewswire

Subscribe to all the latest releases from GlobeNewswire by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from GlobeNewswire

Prosafe SE: Safe Boreas to provide accommodation support at Buzzard27.2.2021 14:07:30 CETPress release

Prosafe has signed a contract with CNOOC Petroleum Europe Limited for the charter of the Safe Boreas to provide gangway connected operations supporting the Buzzard platform complex in the UK sector of the North Sea. The firm duration of the contract commencing mid-April 2021 is 100 days with three 30-day options. The Safe Boreas will perform the gangway connected work scope using dynamic positioning, providing CNOOC Petroleum Europe Limited flexibility in operation. Total value of the contract excluding the option periods is approximately USD 8.5 million. Jesper Kragh Andresen, CEO of Prosafe says: "The Safe Boreas will strive to offer CNOOC the highest level of service. The Safe Boreas has operated extensively in the UKCS and will provide the safest working environment." Prosafe is a leading owner and operator of semi-submersible accommodation vessels. The company is listed on the Oslo Stock Exchange with ticker code PRS. For more information, please refer to www.prosafe.com Stavanger

Mandalay Resources Corporation tillkännager resultatrapporten för fjärde kvartalet och helåret 202027.2.2021 08:53:04 CETPressemelding

TORONTO, Feb. 27, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Mandalay Resources Corporation (”Mandalay” eller ”bolaget”) (TSX: MND, OTCQB: MNDJF) är glada över att tillkännage resultatrapporten för fjärde kvartalet och helåret som slutade den 31 december 2020. Bolagets konsoliderade finansiella resultat för året som slutade 31 december 2020, tillsammans med ledningens diskussion och analys (”MD&A”) för motsvarande period, finns tillgängliga under bolagets profil på www.sedar.com och på bolagets webbplats www.mandalayresources.com. Alla valutor i detta pressmeddelande avser US-dollar om inget annat är angivet. Höjdpunkter för fjärde kvartalet 2020: Intäkter på 45,3 miljoner USD;Justerad EBITDA på 25,3 miljoner USD, tredje högsta kvartalsresultatet i bolagets historia;Konsoliderat nettoresultat på 14,7 miljoner USD eller 0,16 USD per aktie; ochJusterat nettoresultat på 12,1 miljoner USD eller 0,13 USD per aktie. Höjdpunkter för helåret 2020: Intäkter på 179,0 miljoner USD, högsta helårsresultatet sedan 20

Annual financial report 202027.2.2021 08:00:00 CETPress release

FINANCIERE DE TUBIZE SA/NV Allée de la Recherche 60, 1070 Brussels Contact: Anne Sophie Pijcke, directeur, aspijcke@financiere-tubize.be Annual financial report 2020 Regulated information 27 February 2021 The board of directors of Financière de Tubize has established the 2020 annual financial report. This report is available on the website www.financiere-tubize.be Dividend received from UCB: € 84,4 million (against € 82.4 million in 2019) Profit of € 81,0 million (against € 80.0 million in 2019)Decrease of outstanding debt from € 86.5 million at 31 December 2019 to € 33,5 million at 31 December 2020. If the general shareholders meeting of 30 April 2021 approves the 2020 annual accounts, including the proposed result appropriation, a dividend of € 0,68 will be payable as from 6th of May 2021 onwards at the offices, seats and branches of BNP Paribas Fortis, in exchange of coupon n° 16. Ex-dividend 4 May 2021 Record date 4 May 2021 Payment date 6 May 2021 In addition, the company Other Lo

Roche SARS-CoV-2 Rapid Antigen Test receives special approval for at-home patient self-testing using nasal swabs in Germany26.2.2021 18:30:00 CETPress release

Special approval from German Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM) enables home use of a SARS-CoV-2 Rapid Antigen Test using a simple nasal swabThe test will be widely available in pharmacies across Germany Basel, 26 February 2021 - Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) today announced it has been granted special approval by the German Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM) to offer the SARS-CoV-2 Rapid Antigen Test using a simple nasal swab for patient self-testing in Germany. The test is a reliable rapid test for the qualitative detection of a specific SARS-CoV-2 antigen in nasal swab samples.This rapid antigen test collects the sample from the front area of the nose instead of the nasopharynx, resulting in a simplified and more comfortable sampling procedure. By following simple instructions, patients can perform the test at home with results ready after only 15 minutes. The test will be made available in pharmacies and requires no prescription. The G

Cargotec Corporation: Share Repurchase 26.2.202126.2.2021 17:40:00 CETPress release

CARGOTEC CORPORATIONANNOUNCEMENT26.2.2021CARGOTEC CORPORATION: SHARE REPURCHASE 26.2.2021In the Helsinki Stock ExchangeTrade date26.2.2021Bourse tradeBuyShareCGCBVAmount40,362SharesAverage price/ share43.7441EURTotal cost1,765,599.36EURCargotec Corporation now holds a total of 300 531 sharesincluding the shares repurchased on 26.2.2021On behalf of Cargotec CorporationNordea Bank OyjJanne SarvikiviSami HuttunenFor further information, please contact:Mikko Puolakka, Executive Vice President and CFOtel. +358 20 777 4105Hanna-Maria Heikkinen, Vice President, Investor Relationstel. +358 20 777 4084www.cargotec.fi Attachment CGCBV_26.2_trades

Leasinvest Real Estate SCA sells the semi-industrial part of the Brixton Business Park in Zaventem26.2.2021 17:40:00 CETPress release

Today the deed has been executed regarding the sale of the semi-industrial part of the Brixton Business Park in Zaventem, as already announced in the latest press release regarding the 2020 annual results. The buyer is an affiliate of Exeter Property Group. Knight Frank acted as the broker in this transaction. The Brixton Business Park comprises 5 semi-industrial buildings with a total area of 18,788 sqm. This divestment is fully in line with the strategy of Leasinvest, which is aimed at selling non-strategic properties and focusing on new sustainable projects. The current favorable market situation enabled a successful sale of this type of property. This divestment also has favorable financial effects: not only does the debt ratio now reduce to the targeted level of less than 55%, the realized capital gain on this transaction has also allowed Leasinvest to expedite the reimbursement of part of our derivatives portfolio, thus further reducing the average financing cost following the ea

Incap Corporation: THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF INCAP HAS RESOLVED ON PAYING A PART OF THE PURCHASE PRICE PAYABLE TO THE SELLERS OF AWS ELECTRONICS GROUP IN NEW SHARES OF INCAP CORPORATION26.2.2021 16:30:00 CETPress release

INCAP CORPORATION STOCK EXCHANGE RELEASE 26 February 2021 at 5.30 p.m. (EET) THE PURCHASE OF AWS ELECTRONICS GROUP Incap Corporation (the “Company” or “Incap”) announced on 23 January 2020 that it has signed an agreement to acquire the entire share capital of AWS Electronics Group (“AWS”). The group has been included in Incap Group’s reporting as of 23 January 2020. The debt-free purchase price was 13.5 million pounds (then approximately EUR 15.9 million), and the additional purchase price amounted to EUR 0.6 million. The acquisition was financed with a loan of EUR 13 million and paid in cash, with the exception of an instalment of 0.6 million pounds to be paid in Incap shares. A PART OF THE PURCHASE PRICE The Board of Directors of the Company has on 26 February 2021 resolved, that the sellers of AWS will be paid an equivalent of 600,000 pounds in new shares of the Company in a directed share issue with payment (the “Share Issue”). The Share Issue will be consummated on 26 February 202